



## USA Wildwater Honors Four Key Volunteers Brabec, Calhoun, Hipgrave and Loeffel

**Bryson City NC - April 2, 2006** – As part of the awards ceremony at USA Team Trials, the USA Wildwater Committee (WWC) of the USA Canoe/Kayak Team has recognized four of their key volunteers. When presenting the awards John Pinyerd (Chairman) told the crowd that "we are deeply grateful for all of our volunteers, races organizers, sponsors, and active board members. The success of USA Wildwater over the past couple of years and into the future has been significantly impacted by these volunteers." These volunteers are truly "Honorary Members of the USA Wildwater Team" (in alphabetical order):

**Chuck Brabec** (WV) – Chuck has taken the <u>www.usawildwater.com</u> website to a "world class" website and communications tool. According to Michael Beavers (the original web site designer of USAWildwater.com and now Chairman of his own company), "Chuck has taken our website to the next level, the level that I always dreamed of."

**Tom Calhoun** (District of Columbia) – Tom has been a key financial sponsor over the past three years. In addition, the WWC is very appreciative of his mature leadership in identifying opportunities for development of our sport.

**Chris Hipgrave** (NC) – Chris is an athlete, racer, coach, mentor, and race organizer. In addition to being involved with WWC activities and one of our top racers, Chris organizes a couple training camps and a half dozen races year, and helps a couple dozen of us with our training goals/plans. He is a true cornerstone for USA Wildwater and an ambassador for Wildwater.

**Ed Loeffel** (CO) – Ed is one of those persons who dares to dream and then takes action to make his dreams come true. One of Ed's dreams is to help restore Wildwater racing on the Arkansas River, CO and the FIBArk Downriver race to its former greatness. Ed is making this come true by organizing the 2005 and 2006 USA Wildwater Nationals and making them an integral part of the FIBArk Whitewater Festival.

The WWC also thanks Ben Sandiford for putting these awards together and his dedication to Wildwater.