Latest Headlines More Headlines News Archive E-Zines Committee Meeting Minutes Bylaws of the Wildwater Committee Subscribe to E-Zine Article Submission Guidelines ICF Rules ICF Rules - 2008 Update Resources for Event Directors
2016 Wildwater Calendar Archives
Want Ads Vendors Reviews & Repairs
USA Wildwater USA Canoe/Kayak Coaches/Mentors
Current Team Members Former Team Members/Athletes
U.S. National Wildwater Team
 
 

Geoff Calhoun

Age: 23
Birthplace: Washington, DC
Current Residence: Bethesda , MD
Occupation: Kayaker
Family: Iím single
Personal Website:

Wildwater Information:
How I started paddling wildwater:
I started paddling wavehoppers and wildwater boats when I was working for Valley Mill Camp. I got bored with playboating so I took up downriver and started spending a lot of hours in wildwater boats.

The class(es) you race: K1 men but I can also paddle C1 and C2, as well as other disciplines.

Local and Regional results of note:

  • Multiple time winner of the Upper Yough Race, Animal Upper Gauley Race, Cheat Canyon Race, Ohiopyle Falls Race, and the Ohiopyle Upstream races.
  • 2nd in Great Falls extreme race last 2 years

National results (team trials and nationals)

  • US team member (junior/senior) since 2003.
  • Two time junior national champion and 4 time defending current national Champion.

International Results:

  • 9th and 11th at 2004 junior pre worlds in Vipiteno, Italy
  • 28th at Soca world cup #2 sprint in 2004.
  • 22nd at Nottingham world cup #1 sprint 2005.
  • 17th at Lofer world cup sprint #3 2006

Years on US Wildwater National Team: 6

Time Trial Results:

  • 500m (from 2006) 2.08
  • 2000m (from 2005) 9.47

Other Paddling/Sports/Hobbies:
Most of my paddling time these days is in plastic ĎCreek boatsí or other whitewater kayaks, spent running Great Falls, the class 5 creeks of West Virginia, North Carolina, Colorado and elsewhere. I also compete in several of the extreme whitewater races such as on Great Falls, The Green Narrows race, and the Teva Mountain Games, where I was 4th last year. Giant slalom is a new discipline that I am also involved in, combining slalom and creek racing.

I donít have much energy for sports outside of kayaking, but I enjoy doing a lot of things outside

Personal Information:

  • Marital Status: Single
  • Kids: none
  • Height: 6í 1Ē
  • Weight: 186
  • Music: I mostly listen to classic rock and hard rock but my tastes are branching out
  • Food Favorites: Red meat. Any dish with meat.
  • What you do to get ready for a race: I usually have to fix something or hitch a ride to the start line before a race. If I have time, I like to spend a lot of time warming up and getting used to going full speed
  • What you do after a race: eat, drink, relax (or pout)

Equipment:

  • Boats: Zastera Dynamic and ZBSport WAKA
  • Paddle: I just got new Jantex gamma blades. I usually have my paddles set up as R75 213cm
  • Helmet: Iíve worn wildwater designs for years, but I just got the new Shred Ready Shensu
  • Spraydeck: Zastera/ IR bungee skirt
  • Life Jacket: old purple Rapidstyle slalom cut pfd
  • Paddling Clothes: I like to wear thin layers of polypro and synthetics and a light top deck or spray jacket for racing. Often I will dress very light even in cold weather so I have to work hard to stay warm during my warmup, so that I donít overheat during a race
  • Shoe: I donít like this new rule requiring shoes to be worn for racing, but I like KEEN shoes.
  • Car: silver í07 Subaru Outback
  • Other outdoor gear: Iím a big fan of Nike warmup pants, and old US team jackets
 

Photos:
(click on each for a larger image)

© USAWildwater.com