Latest Headlines More Headlines News Archive E-Zines Committee Meeting Minutes Bylaws of the Wildwater Committee Subscribe to E-Zine Article Submission Guidelines ICF Rules ICF Rules - 2008 Update Resources for Event Directors
2016 Wildwater Calendar Archives
Want Ads Vendors Reviews & Repairs
USA Wildwater USA Canoe/Kayak Coaches/Mentors
Current Team Members Former Team Members/Athletes
U.S. National Wildwater Team

Chris Norbury

Age: 38
Birthplace: Bristol, UK
Current Residence: Paymyra, PA
Occupation: Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Penn State College of Medicine
Current school/Alma matter: Undegrad at University of Glasgow, Ph.D at University of Dundee, both in Scotland.
Family: Dad, sister
Personal Website:

Wildwater Information:
How I started paddling wildwater:
I was really into Polo when I went to University in Glasgow, but they were much more into slalom and wildwater, and had a lot of boats, so I started doing that for fun. I think my second wildwater race was the BUSA Championships where I snapped the nose off of a Delphin at the Serpentís Tail. Once I moved to Dundee I got my own boat and Gordon Chisholm really helped me out with training. When I moved to the States I started training with (well, behind) Andrew McEwan. From 2002-2008 I didnít really paddle at all as I got my lab up and going at Penn State, but now Iím out here having fun again.

The class(es) you race: K1, occasionally (very) C2

National results (team trials and nationals)

  • Third in Western Team Trials 2000
  • Sixth in Team Trials 2001
  • 3rd and 5th in National Rankings (2000 & 2001, respectively)

Years on US Wildwater National Team: 2

Other Paddling/Sports/Hobbies:
I love to road bike and cross country ski when I can.

Personal Information:

  • Marital Status: Firmly attached.
  • Kids: I have 5 graduate students, they must count, surely.
  • Height: 5' 5"
  • Weight: Going down all the time (see blog)
  • Music: John Butler Trio, Grace Potter and the Nocturnals, DMB, Thievery Corporation.
  • Food Favorites: Chicken Tikka Masala and Naan bread
  • What you do to get ready for a race: Try to relax, listening to some Marley often helps
  • What you do after a race: Over analyze what I could have done better, or alternatively just eat, rehydrate and chill with the other folks


  • Boat (Make/model):Zastera Composites Corvette and Savage 2000, ZBS Waka, Nick Pink Obsession I , Wavehopper, Queen Mary C2
  • Paddle: Zastera Rasmussens
  • Helmet: Wildwater, or Ace
  • Spraydeck: Ras Dex, Zastera (rubber & All-in one)
  • Life Jacket: Kogg, Stohlquist
  • Paddling Clothes: Billabong
  • Shoe: NRS Kickers
  • Car: Honda CR-V
  • Favorite energy bar/food: Luna Bars (they are too good to be just for women)
  • Other outdoor gear: Lemond Victoire and Bianchi Campione DíItalia Road bikes, Kona Cinder Cone mountain bike, a flatwater K1 and a couple of K2ís, a Reflex Barcelona slalom boat and a Prijon Hurricane (the shortest boat I own).

(click on each for a larger image)

Chris Norbury